top of page
Search

Formative Assessment Design 3.0

As part of an on-going evaluation and critique of my Formative Assessment Design (FAD), I have made a few changes to my previous design and will discuss these changes in today's blog post.


To provide some background, I am developing an assessment that reviews the effectiveness of a New Advisor Training Series. This training series is made up of 9 courses, each focused on specific topics new advisors should know to do their job effectively, and is meant to help new advisors smoothly acclimate to the university and in their new positions. We've run into an issue, however, in which advisors are getting to Class 3 and not continuing on through Class 9. The assessment I have created is a 15-20 minute New Advisor Check-In event with target questions. The assessment is meant to gain some insight into why new advisors are not completing the full course series, if there are specific gaps in their learning that the training series is not fulfilling, and how we can improve the training experience.


My initial FAD document was a fairly rough draft of what I wanted to create. With the helpful assistance of my CEP813 instructor I was able to really formulate an assessment design that was more clear and effective. What was most helpful was designing the questions I wanted to ask new advisors. This second draft of my assessment design is called FAD 2.0 and can be accessed here: FAD 2.0


In this final stage of Formative Assessment Design, I received more feedback from my instructor as well as a classmate. Using this feedback I made two critical changes: First, I made the goal and purpose of the assessment, which will be shared directly to the new advisors, much more clear. My classmate shared that it's important to have the goals of the assessment clearly stated, which I agree will help to provide more transparency and further engage the advisor. The second change I made was incorporating a digital tool to use as part of this assessment. Since we will be collecting feedback live, I found Direct Poll to be a great tool to use. Direct Poll can collect responses in real time, store the data for later review, and offers anonymity for any advisor that isn't comfortable sharing their feedback openly. You can view my updated FAD document here: FAD 3.0


Overall, this has been a very helpful exercise in designing an effective formative assessment, and I look forward to implementing this particular assessment in the spring!



14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Коментари


bottom of page